Flashback appeal for pictures of historical Yarrow House

editorial image
Share this article

Chorley Civic Society has launched an appeal to find photographs of a local house with historical significance.

Yarrow House was demolished in the 1950s and was home to three prominent Chorley families – the Lightollers, who were prominent cotton manufacturers, John Whittle of Chorley Wagon Works, and Mayor from 1891 to 1893, and the Gilletts who gave Limbrick sports field to the town.

All three families were benefactors to the town in some way.

Chorley Civic Society, in partnership with Albany Science College, is looking to commemorate the centenary of the Titanic disaster next year with a plaque.

The most senior surviving officer on the Titanic, Second Officer Charles Lightoller, was brought up in Yarrow House which was situated on the present school grounds.

The plaque will not only commemorate the disaster, but also acknowledge its Lightoller heritage.

His granddaughter is the authoress Lady Louise Patten, whose novel Good As Gold, published in 2010, shed new light on the reasons why the Titanic hit the iceberg.

She hopes to visit Chorley next September to see the sights associated with her grandfather, visit St George’s heritage display and unveil the plaque.

Given Yarrow House’s rich history, it is surprising that no known photograph of the house exists.

The only picture the Civic Society has is an architect-cum-artist’s drawing undertaken in the mid-1940s by W E Mayeri.

If you have a photograph, or have any information regarding this, contact Flashback on 01257 264911.