Mayors through the years

Retro''Chorley Mayors Charity Ball'Jan 1975
Retro''Chorley Mayors Charity Ball'Jan 1975
Share this article

With new mayors being appointed in Chorley and Leyland last week, Flashback has decided to dig out some old photos of mayors for our readers to enjoy looking through.

The first mayor of Chorley was Augustus William Smethurst in 1881, while in South Ribble, first mayor Ron Smith was appointed in 1974 after the borough was formed, incorporating Walton-le-Dale Urban District, Leyland Urban District Council and Preston Rural District Council.

Mr Smith died in August 2010 when he was in his 80s, and he was also one of the first people to be made a Freeman of the borough, the highest honour the council can bestow, in 1994.

The Mayor is classed as the first citizen in each borough, and the recognised face of the council.