Chorley’s local election count gets underway

Chorley Town Hall
Chorley Town Hall
Share this article

Counting is due to start in the local elections, with 15 seats up for grabs on Chorley Council.

Voters went to the polls yesterday and the ballot boxes were taken straight to Chorley Town Hall at 10pm.

The votes for the general election were counted first, with Labour’s Lindsay Hoyle announced as the winner in the early hours of the morning.

He will continue as Chorley’s MP, the role he has held since 1997.

This afternoon, the votes will be counted in the local elections for seats on Chorley Council.

There were local elections in 15 of the 20 wards around the borough.

Before the election, the composition of Chorley Council was: 32 Labour councillors, 13 Conservative councillors and two independent councillors.

Fifteen of the 47 seats are up for grabs. Nine of these seats had been held by Labour councillors and six were held by Conservative councillors.

To follow the local elections as they happen in the region, or to look back at the general election coverage, visit here

The full list of candidates can be seen below.

Adlington and Anderton: June Molyneaux (Labour), Philip Pilling (Liberal Democrat), Stuart Rickaby (UKIP) and Charlotte Woods (Conservative).

Astley and Buckshaw: Dan Croft (Labour), Jeffrey Flinders Mallinson (UKIP) and Mark Perks (Conservative).

Chisnall: Steve Holgate (Labour) and Paul Leadbetter (Conservative).

Chorley East: Terry Brown (Labour), Robert Daykin (Green), Mike Devaney (Conservative) and Christopher Suart (UKIP).

Chorley North East: Claire Ashworth (Green), Marion Lowe (Labour), Tom Norris (Conservative) and Thomas Shorrock (UKIP).

Chorley North West: Aaron Beaver (Labour), Peter Malpas (Conservative) and Julia Smith (UKIP).

Chorley South East: Shaun Jones (UKIP), Sarah Kiley (Conservative), David Porter (Liberal Democrat) and Paul Walmsley (Labour).

Chorley South West: Harold Heaton (Conservative), Margaret Lees (Labour) and Phillip Smith (UKIP).

Clayton-le-Woods North: Magda Cullens (Conservative), Stephen Fenn (Liberal Democrat), Gillian Hargreaves (Green) and Steve Murfitt (Labour).

Clayton-le-Woods West and Cuerden: Alan Cullens (Conservative) and Dave Rogerson (Labour).

Clayton-le-Woods and Whittle-le-Woods: Glenda Charlesworth (Liberal Democrat), Mark Edward Clifford (Labour), David George Humphries (UKIP) and Gregory Ian Morgan (Conservative).

Coppull: Paul Clark (Labour), Joshua John Nelson (Conservative) and Mark Smith (UKIP).

Eccleston and Mawdesley: Martin William Boardman (Conservative), Helen Margaret Bradley (Labour) and Richard Croll (UKIP).

Euxton South: Stuart Anthony Clewlow (Labour), Phillip Hayward (UKIP) and Debra Platt (Conservative).

Lostock: Doreen Dickinson (Conservative) and Stan Ely (Labour).