Voting starts in local and general elections

editorial image
Share this article

Polling stations across Chorley have opened their doors as voting starts in one of the closest-fought elections in years.

The outcome of the General Election is still too tight to predict, with Labour and the Conservatives almost neck-and-neck in the polls nationwide.

In Chorley, six candidates are hoping to become the MP.

They are: Labour incumbent Lindsay Hoyle, Conservative Rob Loughenbury, Liberal Democrat Stephen Fenn, Alistair Straw of the Green Party, independent candidate Adrian Maudsley and UKIP’s Mark Smith.

Local elections are being held in 15 of the 20 wards around Chorley, with the full list of candidates below.

There are also parish council elections in Bretherton, Heskin, Cuerden and the east ward of the Clayton-le-Woods parish.

Voters have until 10pm to go to the polls and the name of Chorley’s MP is expected to be announced overnight.

To follow the General Election as it happens in the region, visit here

The full list of local election candidates can be seen below.

Adlington and Anderton: June Molyneaux (Labour), Philip Pilling (Liberal Democrat), Stuart Rickaby (UKIP) and Charlotte Woods (Conservative).

Astley and Buckshaw: Dan Croft (Labour), Jeffrey Flinders Mallinson (UKIP) and Mark Perks (Conservative).

Chisnall: Steve Holgate (Labour) and Paul Leadbetter (Conservative).

Chorley East: Terry Brown (Labour), Robert Daykin (Green), Mike Devaney (Conservative) and Christopher Suart (UKIP).

Chorley North East: Claire Ashworth (Green), Marion Lowe (Labour), Tom Norris (Conservative) and Thomas Shorrock (UKIP).

Chorley North West: Aaron Beaver (Labour), Peter Malpas (Conservative) and Julia Smith (UKIP).

Chorley South East: Shaun Jones (UKIP), Sarah Kiley (Conservative), David Porter (Liberal Democrat) and Paul Walmsley (Labour).

Chorley South West: Harold Heaton (Conservative), Margaret Lees (Labour) and Phillip Smith (UKIP).

Clayton-le-Woods North: Magda Cullens (Conservative), Stephen Fenn (Liberal Democrat), Gillian Hargreaves (Green) and Steve Murfitt (Labour).

Clayton-le-Woods West and Cuerden: Alan Cullens (Conservative) and Dave Rogerson (Labour).

Clayton-le-Woods and Whittle-le-Woods: Glenda Charlesworth (Liberal Democrat), Mark Edward Clifford (Labour), David George Humphries (UKIP) and Gregory Ian Morgan (Conservative).

Coppull: Paul Clark (Labour), Joshua John Nelson (Conservative) and Mark Smith (UKIP).

Eccleston and Mawdesley: Martin William Boardman (Conservative), Helen Margaret Bradley (Labour) and Richard Croll (UKIP).

Euxton South: Stuart Anthony Clewlow (Labour), Phillip Hayward (UKIP) and Debra Platt (Conservative).

Lostock: Doreen Dickinson (Conservative) and Stan Ely (Labour).