Kendal ahead in final

Share this article

Lancashire Co-operative Trophy

Chorley 0 Kendal Town 1

CHORLEY had it all to do in the second half as Garry Flitcroft’s side chase their first piece of silverware of the season.

Kendal skipper Marc Joseph headed home at a corner after 40 minutes to give the Magpies an uphill task to get back into the game.

Up to then there was no need for goal-line technology at the Reebok Stadium in a lively opening period.

Kendal striker Matt Jackson spurned the first opportunity of the half when the Magpies failed to clear the danger form a corner on five minutes.

It seemed to spur the Magpies on as Matt Walwyn ala Paul Gascoigne in Euro 1996 when he burst through the defence from halfway before firing it wide.

Chorley enjoyed the conditions at the Reebok being able to show their passing prowess on the Premier League surface while at the back Andrew Teague led by example clearing the danger on numerous occassions in the first half.

There was some nevy moments for the Magpies midway through the half when Matt Walwyn collided with Adlington-based keeper Craig Dootson then minutes later ex-Magpie Jackson rounded the keeper and then shot wide.

Russell Saunders was called into action when he made a save from Kevin Leadbetter look easy on 20 minutes.

Dootson had to be on top of his game at the other end to acrobatically deny Foster a certain goal on 25 minutes.

Steve Foster almost made it 21 goals for the season but he could not find enough power in his header to trouble Dootson.

Chorley committed too many men forward to an attack with 10 minutes of the first half remaining but they were not punished.

Walwyn picked up the first booking of the game for a challenge on Danny Williams on 35 minutes.

Then came the sucker punch for Chorley as Joseph put the ball to Saunders right and made it 1-0.

The Magpies ended the half on top with Roscoe firing the ball into the box which was deflected wide and then on the verge of the referee’s whistle Teague missed a chance late on.

Chorley: Saunders, Brown, Ince, Teague, Russell, Vermiglio, Williams, Walwyn, Roscoe, Denham, Foster, Subs: Maden, Ross, Bowen, Proya, Porter