Chorley cricketers through to last 16 of National Knockout

Bowled: Chorley's Will Moulton celebrates after clean bowling Bamford's Simon Wright
Bowled: Chorley's Will Moulton celebrates after clean bowling Bamford's Simon Wright

Chorley secured their slot in the last 16 of the National Knockout with a fine victory over much-fancied Bamford Fieldhouse.

They won the Windsor Park clash by six wickets, bowling out the visitors for 120 before an unbeaten knock of 80 from Ian Dickinson led a successful chase.

It’s Shrewsbury away in the next round on July 14, that being the start of the national stage of the tournament which this year has its final at Durham’s Riverside ground.

After a half-hour rain delay, Chorley won the toss and asked Bamford – skippered by former Lancashire batsman Paddy McKeown – to bat.

They made an early breakthrough, Billy Smith trapping former Chorley player Josh Tolley in front with just four on the board.

Bamford wickets continued to tumble at a consistent rate, although opener Grant Hodnett hung around until the latter stages of the innings to hit a half century.

Will Moulton did plenty of damage, claiming 4-30 in his nine overs.

Keiran McCullagh’s figures of 3-30 included taking two wickets in successive deliveries.

Bamford, semi-finalists in this competition last year, were all out in the 40th over, Iain Critchley claiming the final wicket.

In reply, Chorley didn’t allow the early loss of Andrew Griffiths to knock them.

Dickinson joined Jack Bentham in the middle and they put on a second-wicket stand of 82.

Bentham scored a steady 21, with Dickinson hitting eight fours and a six on his way to his unbeaten 80.

It was Dickinson who hit the winning runs as Chorley posted 123-4.

The National Knockout had perhaps been on their minds 24 hours earlier when they went down to a heavy defeat against Fleetwood in the Northern League.

Chorley were beaten by 10 wickets in the Broadwater clash, bowled out for just 38 after electing to bat.

Only Dickinson made it into double figures, having a knock of 17 before becoming one of seven victims for Ian Holland.

The Australian pro returned figures of 7-20 off 16 overs.

Fleetwood knocked off the runs needed for victory by the ninth over, scoring 42-0.

Leyland were frustrated by the weather as their clash with Darwen was abandoned.

Just 24 overs were possible at Fox Lane, Leyland 80-7 when play was halted - Henry Thompson hitting 21 and Daniel Lamb 24.

But they didn’t lose too much ground in the title chase, with leaders Barrow drawing against Blackpool.

Steven Croft’s 88, which included four sixes and eight fours, helped Blackpool put 162 all out on the board.

Barrow struggled to 91-6 in reply, Croft taking 2-15.

Preston suffered a 10-wicket defeat to Netherfield.

Soyeb Dukanwala’s 77 was the bedrock of Preston’s first-innings tally of 140 all out.

Netherfield openers Marc Brown (67) and Ben Barrow (60) successfully chased down the target in 30 overs.

Lancaster earned a winning draw at St Annes, Charlie Swarbrick hitting 64 as the visitors made 177-6.

In reply, St Annes closed on 169-7, Lukman Vahaluwala top-scoring with 60.

Six wickets from Richard Cupit helped Morecambe draw at Kendal.

He helped dismiss the hosts for 116, with Morecambe restricted to 51-7 in reply.