Jack retains his title with show of power

Jack Catterall lands a huge left on the jaw of Gabriel Calfin
Jack Catterall lands a huge left on the jaw of Gabriel Calfin
Share this article
  • Catterall notches up 12th straight win
  • Referee Marcus McDonnell deducted four points throughout the fight
  • The victory was Catterall’s first defence of his WBO Inter-Continental title

Jack Catterall retained his WBO Inter-Continental light-welterweight title with a sixth-round stoppage of Argentine wild man Gabriel Calfin.

The Chorley southpaw, who is ranked 10th in the world by the WBO, was a worthy winner in a scrappy foul-ridden contest at the Manchester Velodrome.

Referee Marcus McDonnell had to deduct points from both boxers during the fight.

Despite the set back, the 22 year-old’s class shone, and after a flurry of punches on the

ropes, the contest was waved off with 1.20 on the clock.

Victory for Catterall, his second consecutive win over an Argentinian opponent, saw his record

Jack Catterall celebrates his latest title defence

Jack Catterall celebrates his latest title defence

extended to 12-0 with eight knockouts.

Catterall was buoyed by a strong Chorley following, and the atmosphere was electric as he walked to the ring.

It was a scrappy opening round, from the off, southpaw Calfin went into a shell as he struggled with the power of Catterall.

Referee McDonnell was involved straight away as he dished out a warning to Calfin for holding.

Swelling started to appear under the right eye of the Argentine as Catterall landed with a straight left.

Catterall continued to land single shots, but the awkward and negative style of Calfin was a problem, and the former was deducted a point for hitting around the back of the head.

It was clear Calfin was struggling with the power, but it was Catterall

who was deducted a second point in the third after the Argentine was bundled to the floor.

Despite the loss of points, Catterall was clearly ahead and he looked to stamp his authority at any given opportunity.

It was the turn of Calfin to lose a point in the fourth as referee McDonnell had clearly had enough off the Argentine’s holding.

The fifth was much of the same, Catterall landed with several big shots and then Calfin had another point chalked off for use of the head.

A doctor was called to the ring in the early stages of sixth to assess the grotesque right eye of Calfin.

Seconds later after being given the all clear, Catterall closed down his opponent, landing several big shots before McDonnell stepped in to wave off the contest.