Withnell promoted after refusing to Fold

st Mawdesley
st Mawdesley
Share this article

Withnell Fold made it back-to-back promotions and will take their place in the Premier Division of the Palace Shield next season.

Fold achieved promotion after defeating White Coppice on the final day of the season by six runs to finish third in the league.

Vernon Carus 2nd XI and Longridge 2nd XI finished first and second respectively in Division One, but league rules state that no second XI can be in the same division as the first team, meaning Fold achieved promotion at the first attempt.

Batting first, Fold posted 125-9 off their 45 overs, with Graham Lomax top scoring with a valuable 28.

Then Lee Fowler tore through the Coppice top order removing Tony Moore, Keiran Crompton and Chris Maguire for just four runs between them.

Kyle Dixon (44), Phil Jackson (25) and Siddik Munshi (22) repaired the damage and Coppice were cruising.

But Mick Atkinson introduced himself into the attack and claimed three wickets, along with Josh Cunliffe taking three, to secure a prized win.

n Hoghton ended a miserable Premier Division campaign by suffering a nine-wicket loss against Freckleton.

Batting first, Hoghton were bowled out for just 67, with

all-rounder Will Monks top scoring with 24.

Matt Parkinson claimed the only wicket in the Freck reply as they chased down their target in just 12 overs.

n Mawdesley lost by 63 runs against Longridge in their final game in Division One.

Youngster Louis Rothwell took 6-46 as Longridge were bowled out for 138.

But Mawdesley lost early wickets and only Nathan Trengrove (33) and Dave Whiteley(17) made it into double figures as they were bowled out for 75.

n Eccleston ended the season in style by defeating Whittingham&Goosnargh by 50 runs and winning Division Two.

The Doctors Lane outfit were bowled out for 124 skipper Lee Heyes top scoring

with 27.

But the ever-reliable Peter Cummings and Stuart White stole the show as they have all season with the ball.

The pair claimed nine wickets between them to seal victory and ensure Eccleston ended a fantastic season with a win.

n Charnock Richard secured Division Two cricket for 2014 after defeating Whittle-le-Woods by 44 runs.

The home side went into the game needing three points to guarantee safety.

Being asked to bat, Charnock lost Ross Demming and Mark Richardson cheaply.

Gary Rutter then fell soon after but skipper Dave Fortune and Stu Cooper rebuilt the Charnock innings.

Fortune then fell which brought a flurry of wickets before Cooper was ran out.

But an unbeaten 18 from Oliver Smith took Charnock to 118-8 off 45 overs.

Mick Brown and Mark Mitchell both took early wickets and Whittle struggled in their reply.

Brown particularly impressed after missing recent weeks with injury.

Fortune, Smith and youngster Rob Unsworth all chipped in with wickets as Whittle were bowled out for 74 off 41 overs.